Archive and Restore Board Items

What is it?

Finding a specific section of your board no longer relevant? Done with a workspace task and no longer need it on display? Or simply finished working on a specific board? Just archive those items to remove them from your board so that you can focus only on the things that require your attention. Don’t worry – you can easily restore these items if you need to.

Who has access?

  • Teams users:
    • Board members except for viewers and external users can archive tasks and sections.
    • Board admins can archive a board.
  • Platforms:
  • Restoring archived items is currently on Web only.

How does it work?

  • Tasks can be archived from the quick-action menu or via the main task view.
  • Sections can be archived from the board’s menu.
  • You can recover any archived workspace tasks or sections from the archive-menu.

How to archive/ restore a workspace task

✔️ Web

You can either:

  1. Open the task and press this icon to archive it OR
  2. Press the 3 dot menu (quick-actions) next to the task titleand click on Archive

To restore it:

  1. Press the 3 dot menu (quick-actions) next to the task title
  2. Click on “view archived items”.
  3. Click on the “tasks” tab and press the 3 dots on the right and select bring back to board.

Note: At this time the restore feature is on the web version only.

✔️ Android/ iOS

  1. Open the task.
  2. Press Archive at the bottom of the menu.

How to archive/ restore a board section

✔️ Web

  1. Press the 3 dot menu (quick-actions) next to the task titleand click on “Archive this section”.

To restore it:

  1. Press the 3 dot menu (quick-actions) next to the task title
  2. Click on “view archived items”.
  3. Click on the “sections” tab and press the 3 dots on the right and select bring back to board.

Note: At this time the restore feature is on the web version only.

✔️ Android/ iOS

  1. Open the 3 dots menu
  2. Press on the “Sections” menu.
  3. Press on the right part of the section and tap on the bin icon.
  4. Press on Archive.

How to archive an entire board

Please note that once the board has been archived it is irreversible.

✔️ Web

You can either:

  1. Press the 3 dot menu (quick-actions) next to the task titleand click on “Archive Board”.
  2. Press the “Add a new board” from the left menu -> Browse boards-> Leave board.

Note: It will only let you archive a board you are an admin for.

✔️ Android/ iOS

  1. Open the board.
  2. Tap on the 3 dots menu
  3. Press Archive.

Note: It will only let you archive a board you are an admin for.


Was this article helpful to you?

Comments are closed.