User Roles and Permissions

Control who sees what in your space and boards

Updated over a week ago

Want to limit users' access to your workspace or boards? Both Workspace and Board admins can easily control the security-levels of their collaborators. Space admins can set permission levels for the entire space, while board admins can set permissions for each board individually (for existing space members only). Be in total control of your members' activity by setting individual user-roles.

Availability:

The following user-types can take advantage of this feature:

  • Family users - space admins & board admins.

  • Teams users - space admins & board admins.

The feature is available on both our mobile and web/desktop apps (functionality-based, see below).

Watch the video


🛠️ How does it work?

  • Space members can set permission levels for the entire space

  • Space admins can set the following permissions:

    • Guests - can access the space on a read-only basis

    • Members - active participants

    • Admins - able to manage the space and add new members as needed

  • Board admins can set permissions for each board individually

  • Board admins can set the following permissions:

    • Viewers - can access the boards on a read-only basis

    • Members - active participants

    • Admins - able to manage the boards and add new members as needed

Viewers is a Workspace (Teams) feature only


➕ How to add/remove members

For information on how to add\ remove a space member, see instructions here.

💻 Web

  1. Open a specific board.

  2. If you already have members on your board press the blue plus next to the members pictures. If your boards doesn’t have members press the gray + ” Invite board members”.

  3. Open the right options

  4. Click remove

📱 iOS/ Android

  1. Open a board.

  2. Press the blue “Add members” if you already have members press the 3 dots menu and select “Members”.

  3. From the right options press remove.


👥 How to set space permissions/user roles

💻 Web

  1. Open the settings menu from the top left settings icon/ profile image next to your profile name.

  2. Select “Manage space”.

  3. If you have more than 1 space select which one you would like to manage from the top left arrow.

  4. On the right side of each user you can press on the arrow to change the permission level.

Note: At this time you can alter permission-levels from the web app only.


📋 How to set board permissions/user roles

💻 Web

  1. Open a specific board.

  2. If you already have members on your board press the blue plus next to the members pictures. If your boards doesn’t have members press the gray + ” Invite board members”.

  3. From this menu you can set permissions from the right options

📱 iOS/ Android

  1. Open a board.

  2. Press the blue “Add members” if you already have members press the 3 dots menu and select “Members”.

  3. From this menu you can set permissions from the right options.


📊 Board Permissions

Board Permissions

Admins

Members

Viewers

External Users

View boards section tasks and tasks details

Edit boards, board section tasks, and tasks details

Create new boards/ tasks

Open member permissions menu

Add members to boards

Remove board members, Archive board, Make board private

Save as template

View archived items

The following permissions\ features are not available for Family plan users:

  1. External viewers- not able to share with external viewers.

  2. Templates - not able to create or access templates.

  3. Private boards- not able to create private boards.


📊 Space Permissions

Space Permissions

Admins

Members

Guests

View boards section tasks and tasks details

Edit boards, board section tasks, and tasks details

Create new boards and Browse boards

Access space management (Add space members or delete a space)

Did this answer your question?