User Roles and Permissions

What is it?

Want to limit users’ access to your workspace or boards? Both Workspace and Board admins can easily control the security-levels of their collaborators. Workspace admins can set permission levels for the entire workspace, while board admins can set permissions for each board individually (for existing workspace members only). Be in total control of your members’ activity by setting individual user-roles.

Who has access?

How does it work?

  • Workspace members can set permission levels for the entire workspace
  • Workspace admins can set the following permissions:
    • Guests – can access the workspace on a read-only basis
    • Members – active participants
    • Admins – able to manage the workspace and add new members as needed
  • Board admins can set permissions for each board individually
  • Board admins can set the following permissions:
    • Viewers – can access the boards on a read-only basis
    • Members – active participants
    • Admins – able to manage the boards and add new members as needed

How to add/remove members

For information on how to add\ remove a workspace member, see instructions here.

For information on how to add\ remove a board member, see instructions here.


How to set workspace permissions/user roles

✔️ Web

  1. Open the settings menu from the top left settings icon/ profile image next to your profile name.
  2. Under the workspace settings, select “Manage workspace”.
  3. If you have more than 1 workspace select which one you would like to manage from the top left arrow.
  4. On the right side of each user you can press on the arrow to change the permission level.

Note: At this time you can alter permission-levels from the web app only.


How to set board permissions/user roles

✔️ Web

  1. Open a specific board.
  2. If you already have members on your board press the blue plus next to the members pictures. If your boards doesn’t have members press the gray + ” Invite board members”.
  3. From this menu you can set permissions from the right options

✔️ iOS/ Android

  1. Open a board.
  2. Press the blue “Add members” if you already have members press the 3 dots menu and select “Members”.
  3. From this menu you can set permissions from the right options.

User roles and permissions table

  Workspace |   Boards
Admins Members Guests Admins Members Viewers External Users
View boards section tasks and tasks details View boards section tasks and tasks details
Edit boards, board section tasks, and tasks details Edit boards, board section tasks, and tasks details
Create new boards and Browse boards Create new boards/ tasks
Access workspace management (Add workspace members or delete a workspace) Open member permissions menu
Add members to boards
Remove board members, Archive board, Make board private
Save as template
View archived items


Was this article helpful to you?

Comments are closed.